Europe’s New Travel Visa Rules: What You Need To Know

The European Union has recently announced a new travel visa system for non-members of the European Union. This new system is called ETIAS, and it stands for Europe’s Travel Information and Authorization System. The new rules went into effect on October 1, 2018. It is important to find out what the new rules are so that you are able to apply for your own EU visa in advance!


If you’re planning a trip to Europe in the near future, you’ll need to be aware of new visa rules that went into effect on June 1st. The new rules require all visitors who are not nationals of certain countries to obtain a visa prior to travel. This includes citizens of most Western European countries as well as several other countries in the European Union.

The new visa requirements apply to nationals of Algeria, Bahrain, Chad, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. Nationals of these countries who are traveling to any other country in the EU except Denmark and Norway will need a visa. Nationals of these countries who are traveling to Denmark or Norway will only need a visa if they are staying in those two countries for more than 90 days.

If you’re not a national of one of the listed countries and you’re still planning on traveling to Europe soon, you may want to consider obtaining a visa before your trip. Not having a visa could lead to problems when trying to enter or stay in any EU country.

If you do decide to travel without a visa and experience any problems while in

What is ETIAS? – ETIAS Europe

Europe’s New Travel Visa Rules: What You Need To Know

The European Union has announced new travel visa rules that will take effect on January 1, 2020. The ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) will replace the current visa system in Europe.

ETIAS is a biometric-based system that will require visitors from some countries to obtain a visa before traveling to Europe. Countries eligible for ETIAS include the United States, Canada, Australia, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Iceland and Denmark.

Some countries that are not eligible for ETIAS include Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Georgia, Kosovo*, Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia*, Tunisia and Ukraine.

The new travel visa system will apply to citizens of all countries who are not eligible for ETIAS. Visitors who are already in Europe on a valid visa will be able to continue traveling until their visa expires or they leave the EU, whichever comes first.

For travelers who are not eligible for ETIAS and who do not have a valid visa, the following options are available: a valid Schengen visa; a valid residence permit; or a valid long-stay visa

How to Apply for an ETIAS Visa

If you’re planning to travel to Europe, you’ll want to be aware of the new travel visa rules. Starting September 20, 2018, travelers will need an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETIAS) if they intend to visit any of the 27 European Union countries or three other Schengen Area countries (Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland).

To apply for an ETIAS, you’ll first need to create a passport-style electronic travel document. You can do this by visiting the ETIAS website and completing the online application form. Once you’ve completed the form, you’ll need to upload a copy of your passport and two passport-size photos. You’ll also need to pay the application fee of €14.50 (£12).

Once you’ve submitted your application, you’ll receive a notification confirming your ETIAS eligibility. If everything is approved, your ETIAS will be sent to your designated email address. From there, you can use it to board your flights to Europe.

If you’re traveling to one of the three Schengen Area countries without an ETIAS visa, you’ll need to follow the same steps as those applying for an ETIAS visa–except

Prospective Citizens of the New Europe

If you’re considering travelling to Europe soon, you may be wondering what the new travel visa rules entail. Here’s a brief rundown of what you need to know.


If you’re thinking of jetting off to Europe soon, make sure you know the new rules governing travel visas. Starting May 25th, many countries in Europe will require visitors to apply for a visa online prior to traveling. This is a big change from the old system, under which travelers could simply walk into a embassy or consulate and get a visa on the spot. If you’re not familiar with how this new system works, be prepared to take some extra time getting your visa approved. And if you have any questions about what needs to be included with your application, don’t hesitate to reach out to an immigration lawyer or consult the official website for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.